Introduction for an upcoming speedrunner

Hey SR!

I’ve been meaning to get into HL speedrunning last year already but unexpectedly had less time than I wished, so I’m looking to get on top of that this year. I’ve been speedrunning kz maps for a few years already so I don’t need introduction to movement related things, really. I also watched a good amount of SS/RTA/TAS runs - whatever I could find basically.

I have a few questions about setting things up and the rules for the categories. I am most interested in single segment running.

First thing, which client is most common? I remember a year ago many people said that NGHL should be used. Is there any alternative now? Is it necessary to use NGHL? Is bunnymod pro allowed in SS/RTA runs? Are aliases for things like object boosting, gaussing or bhopping - if bunnymod pro is not allowed - allowed? Is changing fps_max within the run allowed (or even possible since I know that some games don’t allow changing fps_max while inside a server and others like CS:GO do)? What are the core differences between the different HL versions?

I might update this with more questions as I come up with them.

Thanks in advance!

Bunnymod Pro is no longer seen as Half-Life anymore, but rather as a mod. Pretty much everyone uses either NGHL or THIS. But no matter which client you use, you most likely are going to want to have the WON dlls. (aka valve_WON) That can be found HERE. Another thing that is crucial for speedrunning is BunnyMod XT. That can be found HERE. And you also might want the launcher.exe for that as well. Changing fps_max during a run is allowed as far as I know. Well, I see people do it all the time so I’m pretty sure it’s fine. But for the most part you’ll be wanting fps_max 100. The major core differences between the two clients (or the only things that I notice) are minor things such as: