Question about BHopping with Index Finger

I’m a noob to speed running and am learning to run Half Life. I bunny hop with my index finger and have for a long time so that can’t really change. This has been no problem until after the infinite health door because now I need to cook grenades while bunny hopping. (And Mouse1 is inaccessible while I bhop).

Does anyone have suggestions for how I could get by this?

For example, is there a way to make a conditional bind such that Mouse 2 while act as Mouse 1 if I have grenades out?

I have the same problem. You can bind a key on your keyboard to do it. I sometimes use “alt” “+attack” but most of the time I just scroll with middle finger when I need to. There is no way to make your example legitimate for current categories on speedrun.com. You could use: bind “key” “bind mouse2 attack” but then you’d need bind “key” “bind mouse2 attack2” to change it back. Too many key presses. Probably.

Thanks. Alt actually helps a lot!

If your competing under rules that require using hardware like a wheel instead of software to fill the gap for jumping half-life leaves behind, just add some more hardware to your setup:

Tape two of your keyboard keys together when you speedrun or have a special keyboard/key caps you use just for this running. For example if you use “t” to switch to grenades link your “t” and “y” keys together with hardware (ie, tape, glue ect.) then use >bind y “bind mouse2 +attack”< so whenever you switch to grenades you’ll also press an adjacent key that you linked via allowed hardware modification.

Then do the same for another weapon like the shotgun that will bind mouse2 to whatever you have it on normally.

Basically if the rules you want to compete under advocate hardware instead of software, use hardware instead of software.

Or just disregard this arbitrary nonsense and use >bind t “weapon_handgrenade;bind mouse2 +attack”< ect.