How to start running with Half Life

Hi there,
I’m totally new to Half Life speedrunning and I want to learn how to run it.
What I learned from the SourceRuns wiki is that the best version for speedrunning Half Life is the New Gauge Half Life Client. Is this correct or are there any other version that are easier or better for speedrunning Half Life?
The next problem for me is the bunnyhopping, I have no idea how to actually do that. I read about having to strafe and looking in the same direction with your mouse, but no matter how hard I try can’t seem to build up more speed than 340 units. And yes I know that I have to release the forward button.

So are there any usefull videos how to do it properly or can you explain it to me how you have to do it so you can actually build up speed? I would really appreciate it.

Use the New Gauge Client for sure. If you are just using an unmodded version you could be hitting the speed cap. Or if you are not using a decent script, your jumping may not be precise enough (NGHL will fix both these issues)

As for tutorials, there are hundreds on YouTube. I looked a few, and I think this one might be the most useful because he shows the keypresses on the screen:

If you upload a video or demo of you I might be able to take a look at it.

Otherwise, just practice practice practice!

Hi,

NGHL is hands down the best version/build of the game to use when it comes to speedrunning in general, however you might choose to use other versions for different reasons, sometimes certain goals require the use of WON or Steam versions.

I’d also recommend downloading Bunnymod Pro if you’re looking to speedrun HL1 or jump maps, it’ll help you improve your skill a lot quicker due to the various different features and indicators available, for example there’s a timer to practice damage boosting with hand grenades.