Chamber 18 : turret room skip strat

Hai everyone,

I’m new to SourceRuns and I use to perform Legacy No OoB speedruns (not sure about that, but I mean not using saveglitch/edgeglitch nor going OoB) of Portal. I’m a beginner, so I don’t know much things about speedrunning this game.

However, in chamber 18, most tutorials I’ve seen showed how to skip the turret room by placing a camera in front of the door, so that the door would stay a little bit open.

The thing is, I usually perform a strat that I discovered myself, which is not really hard to do, and I’m surprised that I’ve never seen such a trick anywhere else.

Here’s what I do : https://youtu.be/piK03Jxa_k8
(Well I did it really slow because my computer lags as hell while recording the screen.)

Did somebody already know about this trick ? Or is it a new discovery ?

(Please excuse my probably bad English.)

Hello, that’s an edge glitch and it’s pretty known. Also welcome to SourceRuns!

I think the current legacy route is about as fast? I’ve seen people do the edge glitch to clip through the door like you did but from a different spot so I think this is sort of new.

EDIT: Also to clarify, edge glitch is allowed in Legacy, but you cannot do any edge glitches that put your “body” out of bounds.

I thought the edge glitch was when we are stuck on the portal, but still able to shoot from the wrong position, while in my video I just actually pass trhough the portal. Is it still an edge glitch?

I was just wondering about that, and I thought that doing what I do (I mean, doing it really fast) may be faster, because it only requires to shoot one Portal and jump on its extreme edge. Not sure though…

“I usually perform a strat that I discovered myself”
I’ve been doing that for years.
Yes, it’s an edge glitch and it’s allowed in current Legacy No OoB rules.
Honestly, I prefer this strat than the common strat used in Legacy; but I didn’t discovered it, and I am sad to say you didn’t either.